MOHI in Grand Goave: A newspaper in the making

Bigger Than 4 Teachers

What I love about the work we’re doing with this newspaper is that it can connect curious donors around the world with the people they’re helping. Of course, as James reminds me, ”it’s not nice to exploit free child labor for advertisements,” but I think it actually enhances learning when the kids know that people who have never even met them care enough about their education to pay for it. So, today we actually visited the website for Child in Hand, the organization that supports teachers like Junior and Elisabeth here. I wanted to check out the kid’s drawing skills and get them focused on coming up with logos for their own team, so we tried to draw the Child in Hand logo. Results below…

That’s my whole spiel about an organization that I’m not actually familiar with.

Here’s what Junior, who’s been working with them for three months, has to say:

I am very happy that Child in Hand supports the Haitian dream, and brings the kids creativity and happiness. Thank you to Child in Hand who make it possible for me to work with the kids, a passion for me.

*****

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

